all things interesting (in my opinion)

What I did this weekend.

In Design, See on March 29, 2010 at 9:27 AM

After running all over town all week to pick up the necessary supplies, I was able to pin down my other half  (talented wood working designer husband) to help me piece together a frame for the soon to open Heartland Cafe in West Seattle.

As you may or may not know I have been working with the owners to develop the concept and design. And while I have not had full control, I have been able to get my way with a couple of things.  One being the “Ode To Mother” framing of an antique apron to be displayed as one half of the “American Gothic-esque” wall.  Budgets being what they are at the end of a project – I knew that the 1000.00 price tag of framing this large beauty was not going to cut it. And I knew that I would be soooo sad if this didn’t make it on the wall.  So I DIY’d it with some crown molding, gold leaf wax, coffee soaked burlap, gold headed pins and the essential help of the man. Thank You Thank You!

I would also like to state that the recent book reviewed in the NY Times about the homes of designers actually only details the lives of those designers living on Fantasy Island. My house on the other hand is a wreck – and what you don’t see in this picture – besides my cute little kiddo – is the havoc of the kitchen (which is U-G-L-Y), the 10 new windows waiting to be installed (Yes, that will our project next weekend) leaning against the wall in the living room, the under served and unfinished bathroom project (deemed “yucky” by a recent sleepover guest), and a child’s room that looks like it could be featured on the next episode of the Hoarders. Someday however, I do plan on moving to Fantasy Island.

  1. I’m totally going to do this! I have a huge empty space on my living room wall that’s just been waiting for a big dramatic frame like this (every time I find one its always too pricey). This is so simple I don’t know why I didn’t think of it!

  2. A.W.E.S.O.M.E.
    Go Team! You really pulled off a great one. Can’t wait to go see it in person. Ciao bella!

Leave a Reply

